The Business Tax Office is located in the Revenue Collections Division on the first floor of the City Hall building. There is a $15 business license fee for all newly issued licenses.
"The Business Tax Act makes it a taxable privilege to make sales or engage in any vocation listed in Tenn. Code Ann. Sections 67-4-708 and 67-4-710. Any county or incorporated municipality in Tennessee may levy the privilege tax on those listed activities that take place within its geographical boundaries".
- The State of TN Business Tax Guide
City Code requires that businesses that qualify, possess a current City of Clarksville business license. Businesses must open their license with the City of Clarksville either in person, or by mail. To do so by mail, you must include a copy of the primary owner's valid driver's license in addition to the $15 fee.
Business License Renewals
All renewals are now done with the State of Tennessee. However, the Business Tax Office in City Hall will be happy to assist you with any questions that you have about renewals. The State of Tennesse provides each individual classification with their own tax return form. To download the forms visit the State's business license renewal website.
Deliquent Business Taxes
Any deliquent taxes owed prior to 2010 can be paid in the Business Tax Office at City Hall. All other deliquent taxes are now payable to the State of Tennessee. For more information on the State's business tax collections please visit their website at http://www.state.tn.us/revenue/tntaxes/business.shtml.
Determining Your Classification & Tax Period
For a complete list of classifications and information about each tax period, please visit the State of Tennessee Department of Revenue's website.
Tennessee Business Tax Guide
How to Start a Business
TN Business Registration Instructions
Application for Business Registration
Application for Business Tax License
Peddlers Permit Application
Peddlers Permit Ordinance Information